top of page
  • Writer's pictureL. Roy Aiken

Psalm 004

All my life

I’ve been yearning

for a feeling


of what it might feel like

to be a part of something

wondering


what could it possibly

feel like to be

a part of something

good and right

and working

the way it should be


I’ve searched for security

among the fading aches

of sunbeams on bookshelves

furry with dust


the artifacts

of my long-since grown

children’s childhoods

upon them


I’ve spent many an evening

walking along the road

the cars whooshing by

wishing I was on my way

with them


to a place

lively with beer, laughter,

and joyous camaraderie

instead of the lonely night’s

drinking that lay ahead


I never considered what we’d do

the morning after our revels

only that we’d be at it again

the next evening


nor did I consider that

for the most part

I prefer to inebriate myself

in solitude

that I may more

thoroughly wallow

in sorrows I cannot drown


smug-proud I’m doing it

with beer and not hard liquor

at least I know I’m that smart

for a common slave


loner that I am

I am still a herd animal

and wish I was better at it


God shakes His head

and I marvel He cares

to do so much

before He cuts another path

for my wandering feet.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page