top of page
  • Writer's pictureL. Roy Aiken

A New Name for a New Blog

Updated: Jul 10, 2021

Because the only way forward is forward, not back.

 

From March 2011 until July of this year, I posted very sporadically to my Google Blogger page, to say the least. Here on Wix I’ve found it’s even more difficult to work up enthusiasm for a post. Everything is so basic. I miss my old formatting. Most of all, I miss being able to put captions under my photos. It was a way of running a post within a post, providing so much more depth than a mere illustrative photo.


The best thing I can say about the Wix platform is that it works as advertised, however limited. When I format for normal-sized text, it doesn’t post x-small. It doesn’t make the text in which I have the link embedded vanish. Et cetera. Maybe I’m not looking hard enough but I’m surprised I’m the only one complaining about Blogger’s increasingly dysfunctional platform. I know of one major political heretic who uses the Google Blogger platform and he seems to have no problem. What gives?

As if sensing my plan to dismantle my old Rage ‘n’ Romance! page, I note I’m getting a lot of Google pity-traffic on it now. My original intention was to take the blog apart one black-bar category at a time until it disappeared altogether. I’ve decided, oh, what the heck, trim some fatty content and leave it alone. Rockin’ Roy’s Rage ‘n’ Romance! was too ridiculously cumbersome a title to begin with. Let’s leave it in my ridiculously cumbersome past and come up with something new.


While playing a find-a-word game I came upon blustery and shovel in the same string of letters. I thought Blustery Shovel would be a funny name for a band, so I wrote it down, where it stayed on the notepad beneath my computer mouse for three days until I realized I had the name for my new blog. I’m not crazy about it, but it’s short, non-alliterative, and coveys a whimsy beyond the bounds of genre. In plain, non-Vulcan English, that means I can put whatever I want beneath this title. I’ll cross post some of my better stuff from Rage ‘n’ Romance! but this blog will be mostly new material.


With a new name, I’m feeling a lot more energized. As of today, Saturday, 19 September 2020, Blustery Shovel is go. Let’s see what I come up with now.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page