top of page
  • Writer's pictureL. Roy Aiken

The Ides of October

Updated: Jul 16, 2022

A minor mid-morning adventure in mid-month, with photos and commentary.

 

And so it came to pass on this serenely beautiful October morning that my wife and I sailed west-by-northwest along U.S. 160 to Del Norte with the dual purpose of renewing the tags and registration on my Jeep and dropping our ballots right into the belly of the Rio Grande County beast—literally, right in the middle of the county clerk and recorder’s office. Cynthia and I popped our votes against cancel culture and censorship, against tax increases (three or four of ‘em, I forget) and constitutional subversion (that’s what the Let California and New York Decide Our Elections is all about), into the big box. Right after that I stepped up to the counter to purchase my spendy little sticker for my license plate, and we were back out among the most breathtaking scenery you ever clapped eyes on. Home before 11 a.m., and hooray for us, we just did our part in the Great Election of Our Age. I love how wonderfully quiet and unremarkable (except for the fall colors) it all was.

The best shots are from on the way home. This was the only display I saw for the Democratic Party's presidential candidate, but it was impressive.

Who doesn't love an antique truck? Moving along, then....


These wind-scoured cones, a feature unique to this part of the San Luis Valley, never fail to impress.


Nothing like putting a tall ridge between your household and the often blustery prevailing winds.



My wife and I returned to Big Pink to find Peak October in full effect on our front lawn.





It will likely be a while before we bother raking this.

I love how the leaves take it upon themselves to add their seasonal decor to our porch. The reflection of the trees over the U.S. flag in our window is a sweet touch. As I told Cynthia, we don't need campaign signs. Those flags we have in either window will say it all for how we voted.


3 views0 comments
bottom of page