top of page
  • Writer's pictureL. Roy Aiken

High Summer Morning

A little girl

no more than three years of age

pedals her little princess bicycle

with training wheels

ahead of her father


She’s bubbling over

with purest joy

to be out with her Daddy

rolling along the sidewalk

beneath the summer sun


to think how much beer

I have to put away

to feel a fraction of that joy

only to be mocked by the devil

as I’m left sickened

and soul-numbed

by my efforts


the child sees the feral cats

on my porch and her joy

defies common adult

emotional gravity:

“Cats!” she cries out,

“Meow-meow! Cats!


Her happiness brightens

the intense July sun

in all the best ways.


“These are good cats,”

she proclaims in confidence

as she rolls away from my

yard ahead of her father

“Good cats! Meow-meow!”


Her father turns to look

me before disappearing

behind the fence

separating my property

from the neighbors


We exchange respectful

nods with our bland smiles

I’m thinking, Man, if you

only knew how quickly

this all goes away


as sure as the approaching fall

will kill the grass and flowers

and the winter goes to work

on our very spirits


(Hot as it is, the leaves begin

changing four weeks from now.)


at least that man riding with his child

is riding with his child and letting her

shout her bliss without comment


you’ve only so many seasons of this

my good man, before that child

forgets joy to become

something awful

and ordinary

like us grownups

to whom this

child oh so innocently

looks up and admires


I look up to God and beg

forgiveness for not doing better

by my own children

and for maybe a taste of that joy

to feel such uncorrupted happiness


may the brightness of it

purify my very soul


it’s as if we recreate the Fall

every time a child

enters puberty


God, let us all be

as Your children

in Heaven

so eager to leave our beds

in the mornings

dreading nothing

just happy to be here


happy to be riding with the Father

in eternal blue-sky morning

happy for the sunshine

and the very good creatures

we meet along the way.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page